Meet the Tutors: Grace Boulanger

by Grace Boulanger

What is your favorite word?
“Phiz:” It’s a noun originating in the late 17th century and means “a facial expression.”

What sound or noise do you hate?
Any scraping noise accomplished by running my nails along something.

What sound or noise do you love?
Does instrument count? I love electric violins. But sound…I watch a lot of Star Trek and I love all the beeps and humming noises the Enterprise makes.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Space is the place (don’t talk to me about Star Trek or that WILL be the rest of your day).

If you were to write a blog post, what would you title it?
I have a stockpile of good titles, but I would call my blog post, “Bungling About in Britain” and it would be from a blog about me and a friend wandering around the UK complaining. It also refers to the Canadian’s slang for being wasted; absolutely bungled.

What is your favorite book, poem or movie and why?
Choosing a favorite book is like choosing a favorite child. I’ll say Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. It was very raw to read and left me with an eerie feeling. I didn’t know anything about it when I started reading it other than it was a “ghost story”, and I have to agree. It was about mental illness, desperation, and children suffering for the sins of their parents. It has a special place in my heart.
“To His Coy Mistress” by Andrew Marvel is one of my favorite poems.

Do you speak/read/write in other languages?
A teeny, tiny bit of French. I am terribly out of practice, but with consistency I can read, write, and speak it. 

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
The last movie I saw was Arrival. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It portrayed the process of grief and recovery incredibly well. I think it drove home the idea that language shapes how you perceive reality ((you just have to watch it, you’ll see)). Also, nice aliens.

What turns you on creatively?
Very short poems, like spilled-ink poetry. When I can’t access those, looking out my window.

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

