Meet the Tutors: Jessica McGarvie

by Jessica McGarvie jessicam1

What sound or noise do you love?
I like the sound of ocean waves crashing on the beach. It gives me nostalgia reminds me of my home in Port Angeles. I imagine standing on the bluffs and looking out to the Juan de Fuca when I hear ocean waves.

What is your favorite book, poem or movie and why?
My favorite book at the moment is Frankenstein, because I recently read it in class, and I was surprised at how thought-provoking it was. I thought Frankenstein was about a big & green monster with plugs in his neck, who terrorized towns in Europe. The story, however is misunderstood and makes a beautifully tragic statement on human rights, vanity, and paternity.

What profession would you not like to do?
I could never do hair. Touching other people (especially their hair) really freaks me out.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
I’m currently studying to become an attorney, but if I could attempt different profession it would be a farmer. I think it would be rewarding and fun to have my own farm with chickens, cattle and cows, and horses. The job would be really hard, but I think I would enjoy it.

What places are you most creative in?
I believe I’m most creative in as odd as it sounds, home decor. I love designing a space and making it my own through different mediums. I believe a whole room can be tied together with something as simple as a nice rug. I also believe I’m most creative in make-up. The beauty of make-up is the ability to create something new every day.

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
Oh, goodness. The last movie I saw was La La Land, and I did not like it. I’m not a big musical fan, and felt like it had no real plot. I’m sorry, but just don’t go see it.

What is your least favorite word?
My least favorite word(s) are “I can’t.”

What turns you on creatively, spiritually, or emotionally?
Music turns me on in all three categories.

What is your favorite word?
Love

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

