Meet the Tutors: Henry Welch

by Henry Welch henry

What sound or noise do you love?
I would say animal noises like when my dog does a soft rooing noise (growl?) when she wants food or more attention, and my cat’s purring.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
All of them.  Researcher, Journalist, Teacher, Musician, Radio Host, Veterinarian, the list goes on.

What profession would you not like to do?
I would have a terrible time being a salesperson.  My special version of hell is trying to sell a product that I don’t believe in to someone that doesn’t want it.

If you were to write a blog post, what would you title it?
Top Ten Ways to Stop Procrastinating!

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
I try to pick favorites, but I usually can’t.  I end up loving whatever I’ve read recently.  So right now I’ve just finished Slaughterhouse-Five which was spectacular.  Really clean writing, and a lot of moments where I just had to sit there enamored by the wit of a statement.  I also watched A Series of Unfortunate Events on Netflix which I had read as a child and I really enjoyed that as well.  Patrick Warburton as the author/narrator was a perfect fit.

What place are you most creative in?
My drum room.  It is a 16×16 ft. room with my piano, drum set, and a space heater.  No people or animals.  It makes for a good place to work.

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
I saw Doctor Strange, and I enjoyed it.  Cool magic effects and world-building stuff for the Marvel universe.

What is your favorite word?
Theoretically.

What turns you on creatively, spiritually, or emotionally?
Empty space.  Both temporal and physical.  Gotta do stuff.  And other people’s work. Especially people close to me if they do cool things.

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

