Meet the Tutors: Ayva Thomas

by Ayva Thomasayva

What is your least favorite word?
My least favorite word is…wait for it…”moist”. Just. Ew.

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
I have found two places in the world that make me feel the absolute happiest and stress-free: St. Thomas (in the Caribbean) and Alta Lake (in Eastern Washington just outside of Chelan).

What turns you off?
Big egos are a hard pass for me.

What sound or noise do you love?
Two of my favorite sounds are listening to waves and hearing a baby laugh.

What sound or noise do you hate?
I hate it when I can hear someone chew their food or gum. It’s like fingernails on a chalkboard…which is also a horrible sound.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
As of now, I am a student and a peer consultant. In the near future (after law school), my plan is to become a sports agent.

What profession would you not like to do?
I would not like to be a surgeon. Back when I was in middle school, I really wanted to be a neurosurgeon…until I watched a show that made me realize I would have to make incisions, cut into people, see their insides, and have blood on my hands. I guess I liked the idea of the profession more than what it would have required me to do.

If you were to write a blog post, what would you title it?
If I were to write a blog post, I would title it “For the Sake of Humanity” in light of all that is going on in our country right now.

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
Four movies come to mind and I can’t narrow it down more than that. Hidden FiguresBridesmaidsCrazy Stupid Love, and The Accountant.

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
The last movie I saw was Split. I really liked it because there was a psychiatrist in the movie that was conducting research on dissociative identity disorder, and instead of thinking that it was a limitation, she hypothesized that it was potentially a breakthrough in studying the human brain’s potential. Even though this was a fictional movie, that aspect of it made me think about how much we still don’t know about our human abilities and the limits that we put on ourselves because of doubting our own capacities.

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

