Meet the Tutors: Colin Davis

by Colin Daviscolin

What is your favorite word?
I have too many to list, but “defenestration,” “quotidian,” and “amalgamate” are perennial favorites.

What is your least favorite word?
“Awkward.” Hard to say, hard to spell, hard to define: what’s not to hate?

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
Boundary-pushing, vulnerability, curiosity, and music, especially ridiculously overcomplicated progressive rock or scary ambient black metal.

What turns you off?
Tepid predictability, lack of imagination, and not knowing the difference between “your” and “you’re.”

What sound or noise do you love?
I absolutely love the sound of breaking glass and cats purring. Not at the same time, though. That would be weird. Although….

What sound or noise do you hate?
The sound of stuck shopping cart wheels scraping across linoleum makes me want to jump out of a window. (See? Defenestration again!)

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Independently wealthy libertine, philanthropist, and angel investor. I’m pretty sure I’d be amazing at it.

What profession would you not like to do?
I can forward you my resume.

If you were to write a blog post, what would you title it?
“Sixteen Reasons Why the Oxford Comma Is a Matter of Life and Death (#7 Will Shock You!)”

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
One of my favorite novels is Neal Stephenson’s Anathem, a slim little volume (Practically a novelette! Also, I’m lying!) about science monks saving the world with a protractor, a pencil, and a sheet of paper. Believe it or not, it’s actually nerdier than it sounds, and if some network ever takes leave of its senses and decides to adapt it as a television series, I’m pretty sure it’d be the greatest series ever seen by exactly four people.

What place are you most creative in?
Any place with coffee and a comfortable place to sit.

What genre/discipline do you like least to write and/or read?
Reading anything about economics or finance makes me want to claw my eyes out.

Do you speak/read/write in other languages?
Some French, a little Japanese, and a smattering of Latin, Greek, and Hebrew. (Yes, really. One of the occupational hazards of comparative religious studies.)

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
I saw Hidden Figures, and I loved it. It was beautifully filmed, brilliantly acted, and utterly relevant. If it doesn’t take home some Oscar love this month, I will be yelling at my Academy-voter uncle-in-law. #OscarsSoWhite

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

