Meet the Tutors: Danielle Tretyak

danielle-1by Danielle Tretyak

What is your favorite word?
Plethora is a pretty word.

What is your least favorite word?
I absolutely cannot stand the word “moist”. I am one of many people that loathes when somebody uses that word.

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
I really love listening to music because I can space out and start day dreaming.

What turns you off?
When somebody tells me that my music taste is awful.

What sound or noise do you love?
I’m between two. The first is the sound of severe thunderstorms because I want to curl up into a ball, watch movies, and chill out. It reminds me of growing up in the midwest and feeling completely at home. The second is when I’m roasting somebody and my diss was so good that people listening in go “OOOOOOOHHHHHHH”. So.. either of those.

What sound or noise do you hate?
I have misophonia so: chewing, coughing, or pencils scratching on paper.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
I think I’d make it big as a sleep study test subject for NASA. I’d get paid to sleep which I think is pretty cool. Take that, mom- my laziness CAN be an occupation.

What profession would you not like to do?
There are people that catch elephant poop for a living… so I think I’ll go with that.

If you were to write a blog post, what would you title it?
“Yup. She’s Talking Again.”

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
Book
: Silence of the Lambs
Any book where I can unpack at least 100 different things in one sentence is a book I love. Silence of the Lambs has these in the thousands.
Movie: Real Genius
It’s a movie I grew up watching. It’s one of those 80’s cult classics that you can quote for days.

What place are you most creative in?
Probably my living room. I tend to have a lot of drive to want to start or work on something in there.

What genre/discipline do you like least to write and/or read
Oy vey… I’d probably have to say either YA or romance solely for the fact that they follow very cliche storylines.

Do you speak/read/write in other languages?
I can speak and write in Spanish, French, and Russian

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
The last movie I saw was Trainspotting because the sequel came out that week. I like it for it’s creativity, but not for the imprint it left in my mind.

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

