Meet the Tutors: Neele Thom

by Neele Thom

What is your favorite word?
My favorite is the longest word ever! Its the name of an amino acid chain (protein) that would take you five years to say completely. It is nicknamed Titin, and it is inside all of your muscles!

What is your least favorite word?
Infinitesimal, because it’s the word I misspelled in the highest level spelling bee I ever attended, and it’s haunted me ever since

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
ABBA’s greatest hits album. There is no problem in my life that cannot be solved by “dancing queen”

What sound or noise do you love?
Loud shoes (especially heels) on wooden floors

What sound or noise do you hate?
Power tools. The sound makes the synapses in my brain go haywire and I turn in to some kind of angry Hulk-like she-beast.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Building prosthetic limbs! I am really fascinated with how far bioengineering has grown in the past few years.

What profession would you not like to do?
Anything business-related, mostly because I hate buzz words.

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls by David Sedaris. He is easily the funniest writer I know. His narratives were the first thing I read that inspired me to develop my own writing.

What place are you most creative in?
A coffee shop, preferably with snacks (preferably waffles).

What genre/discipline do you like least to write and/or read?
Although I love to read creative writing, I have trouble writing it myself. I have a hard time making it sound genuine.

Do you speak/read/write in other languages?
I speak German, and I can also speak Chinese at about the level of a Chinese four-year-old.

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
The last movie I saw was Arrival, and it was incredible (I love alien movies).

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

