Meet the Tutors: Ashley Potter

By Ashley Potter

What is your favorite word?
My favorite word is in French. It is “pamplemousse,” which means “grapefruit.”

What is your least favorite word?
The word “draw” leaves your mouth in a very uncomfortable, never ending long a sound. I can’t.

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
So many things get me going in this department, but if I had to choose one: opera. Opera makes me cry every time, and I really do not know why.

What sound or noise do you love?
I like the sound of music, almost all genres of music from all time periods, except for modern day country.

What sound or noise do you hate?
The sound of my alarm in the morning, no matter the sound, has to be my most detested sound.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
In another life, I’m an artist, whether famous or not.

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
My favorite movie is Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. I have never seen another movie that has the ability to make me cry every single time and it has the most compelling point to make about love.

What place are you most creative in?
During the summertime, I lie on a blanket on the grass in a park or in my backyard, and my mind wonders until I get the urge to write poetry almost every time.

What genre/discipline do you like least to write and/or read?
Though it is easiest, I hate writing technical writing. This is probably because I like a challenge and there is no creativity required in that type of writing.

Do you speak/read/write in other languages?
I can speak in French but cannot really write in French, because the writing is slightly different from the speaking aspect of the language.

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

