Meet the Tutors: Vivi Nguyen

By Vivi Nguyen

What is your favorite word?
Merveilles. It means “wonders” in French.

What is your least favorite word?
Moist is a really annoying word.

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
Music! I have playlists for different moods and going to concerts always makes me happy.

What sound or noise do you love?
I love the sound of rain. There’s just something therapeutic about it.

What sound or noise do you hate?
This is really weird but I hate the sound of metal utensils scraping on a plate, or my teeth!

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
I really wanted to be an astronomer when I was little, so I would like to do that if I wasn’t studying business. It would be awesome to get paid to stargaze and learn about space.

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
My favorite book would be the Picture of Dorian Gray because of the gothic imagery and dark themes.
My favorite movie is Howl’s Moving Castle, which an animated version of the book! I love Hayao Miyazaki’s art style as well as the soundtrack.

What place are you most creative in?
I get the most work done when I’m sitting inside of a cafe. The atmosphere and smell of coffee always gets my creativity going.

Do you speak/read/write in other languages?
Vietnamese and French. I am also self studying Japanese, albeit very slowly.

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
The last movie I saw was Kung Fu Yoga, which is a Chinese/Bollywood collaboration starring Jackie Chan. I love all Jackie Chan movies, so I enjoyed it a lot! Bonus points for also starring my favorite member of the South Korean-Chinese band, EXO.

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

