Meet the Tutors: Aliya Perez

By Aliya Perez

What is your favorite word?
My favorite word is hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia because it means “the fear of big words” and it is itself a big word. Oh the irony!

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
Music. It puts me in a good mood and sparks my creativity. Always has, always will.

What place are you most creative in?
I am most creative in my room, on my bed, with my window open, with a notebook in hand. Best feeling ever.

What genre/discipline do you like least to write and/or read?
I hate research writing. There is such a lack of creative voice or personalization that it makes me sad.

What sound or noise do you hate?
I absolutely hate the noise that car fan belts make when they need replacing — or the sound of screechy brakes. They give me chills. It sucks.

What sound or noise do you love?
I love the sound of a saxophone. It is so tranquil.

What turns you off?
Tuna. It smells gross. No more explanation needed.

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
One book that I love reading is Pride and Prejudice. That old English banter between the characters is literally so fun to read.

What profession would you not like to do?
I don’t want to have a profession that studies bugs. That’s triggering my arachnophobia and my dislike of research writing. It would be a bad combo for me.

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

