Meet the Tutors: Martin Corpus

By Martin Corpus

What is your favorite word?
“Valid”. I use this word whenever someone says something that I agree with.

What is your least favorite word?
Soccer. Why? Because I prefer to call it football. 🙂

What turns you off?
Racism.

What sound or noise do you love?
The roar of a crowd at a football match when my teams score goals (I’m a fan of Seattle Sounders and Western Sydney Wanderers). If you’ve ever stood on the Brougham End, you’ll know what I’m talking about. I also love the sound of a running motorcycle engine (especially on a Honda CB or a Sportster Forty-Eight).

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Architect. I prefer brick buildings and don’t see enough of them anymore. If I could, I would design a whole new city.

What is your favorite book, poem, or movie and why?
Favorite Movie: Wayne’s World. It’s a movie with simple humor and doesn’t require a lot of thinking to enjoy. Also, it reminds me of 90’s culture and how great it was.

What place are you most creative in?
Trains. There’s something about watching either city or the shoreline and water glide when looking at them from inside the Sounder or Light Rail that eases my mind.

Do you speak/read/write in other languages?
I speak a little bit of Spanish.

What was the last movie you saw, and did you like it?
Green Street Hooligans. Loved it. 

Some questions from “Bouillon de Culture” hosted by Bernard Pivot

Leave a Reply

